Three Dark Crownsーby Kendare Blake

Three Dark Crowns

Released Date: September 20, 2016

Author: Kendare Blake

Ratings: 3 Stars

3 stars (real)

r ty ty39-8 hfwief

In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born—three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose…it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins.

The last queen standing gets the crown.

book review stamp

Let me give you a fact. I have been liking the stories which relates to monarchy. Something like taking over thrones and stuffs.

Since I’ve watched the Epic Reads’ book explain for Three Dark Crown, I’ve been wanting to read it. So when I saw three books of it stuck in my local bookstore, I instantly grab it and paid for it.

Okay, this books started with three chapters where the author introduced the three queens. First chapter if for the poisoner queen named Katharine; second is Arsinoe which is the queen of the naturalists; and lastly is Mirabella, queen of elemental.

Katharine and Arsinoe struggles to perform their gifts. But Mirabella performed hers very well.

Three Dark Crowns is very much about triplets who would fight over the crown of Fennbirn.

They will kill each other using their powers. Over the years, the poisoners always win. But it feels like it won’t this time. Mirabella is the only queen that can control her powers.

I won’t tell anymore something that could spoil you. My problem here was that this novel’s plot was so slow I began hating it. Although the theme and the idea was catchy and all, there was a problem with writing. Specially in one of the lines. It was so confusing that I ended up re-reading the same line for about ten times. It was so frustrating.

Yet it would be heartless of me if I did not share how broken I was when I’ve read about Arsinoe and Billy at page 319. It’s a sad part. The image of Arsinoe and Billy inside my head won’t leave me. Especially Billy’s line:

“Don’t touch her! Don’t you dare touch her!”

Even though this book have a slow plot, I still recommend it. It would teach you your love for a sister over responsibilities.

And believe me when I tell you this. THE LAST LINE WILL BLOW YOUR MIND.

mind_blown

 

footprints-shoes

 

vrn v9249 494jt

Let me know in the comments below what you think about Three Dark Crowns. We’ll also talk about the soon to be released book 2 entitled One Dark Throne.

signature

 

Leave a Reply

