Book Review: The Heir ㅡ Kiera Cass

The Heir

Paperback, 342 pages

Series: The Selection #4

Published Date: May 06, 2015 (First Published: May 05, 2015)

Publisher: HarperCollins

Rating: 4 Printsprint 4

r ty ty39-8 hfwief

Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

book review stamp

I have to admit how hard it was to read the book four of The Selection Series with a new name. Eadlyn Schreave, daughter of King Maxon Schreave and Queen America Schreave (Oh My Gosh! I squeal as I type those names!). She have 3 brothers ㅡ her twin brother Ahren and younger brothers Kaden and Osten. I’d be a sweet spoiler. I promise!

Marlee Woodwork and Carter Woodwork have two childrenㅡKile Woodwork and Josie Woodworkㅡwho Eadlyn secretly hates. By the way, Aspen and Lucy got married too. I was really sad for Aspen that he won’t be able to experience taking care of a child. Lucy got miscarriages and three cancelled adoption.

After Eadlyn chose the thirty-five lucky guys, she met them one after one before they go to the Men’s Parlor. After all the boys that passed, I ship Kile Woodwork with her. I hope he wins.

There was a parade held outside for people to see their princess and the Selected suitors. But as they reach the last group of people, they started throwing foods. People yelling that they need jobs and the castes still lives. After that, she began dismissing number of boys. She excluded Kile (Thank You! I love that guy!). Eadlyn was harsh.

Then, my ship started sailing. Eadlyn called Kile to her room to talk about “romance.” Which they planned to do a wager. One kiss for anything he would like (except for something like country of something). After Kile showed Eadlyn his room:

“Nah.” He smiled, but he also fidgeted. “So… goodnight.”

Kile leaned down, lips meeting mine, holding them there. Then his lips parted and closed and parted again.

Should I die? Or just stare at nothing in awe as my heart race? I’m in a serious mind black out. Okay, I’m calming down.

After a date with Hale, she decided to date Baden in the Women’s Room. She played the piano and Baden played the guitar. I laughed just as Baden started singing Choosing Yesterday in a different lyrics. It was a fun read.

I don’t know who she will end up with. But I spoiled myself in The Crown. And I have to stop this ship before I would literally die in the end. LITERALLY. My heart will break into tiny pieces. Is that what you want Kiera Cass?!? IS THAT WHAT YOU WANT?!?

But as I read, I have this thought of not paring her to anyone even though I like Kile so much that I can put myself in the book and tell him I want him to be with Eadlyn. But I shouldn’t. I know I’d be hurt and broken. So I have to move on. As I read, Kile went to the scene and started kissing Eadlyn again. Then I was like, WTF? What am I suppose to do? Stop it Kile! I can’t handle the feeling the joy then regret it later. I can’t. I have a feeling that this wouldn’t be as heartbreaking as THE SELECTION, THE ELITE OR THE ONE. Because it’s more than that. It’s more heartbreaking than any heart breaks. I WILL REALLY DIE.

After the kitchen fight between Fox and Burge because of a stupid vegetable, Eadlyn was stressed out resulting an intimate kiss from Kile who recently had a wound in his lip. I really ship them so hard that I can grab them both from the book and get them married. I’m about to cry. I’m sorry, I’m too emotional.

There was a scene here when the boys played Baseball with Eadlyn. I laughed at America’s words.

“Get them!” She yelled. “Hit it!”

When Eadlyn thought she was about to be ordered inside. Oh, America; still America. After Eadlyn hit her ball, America and the other girls began slipping off their shoes and demanding a turn. I still laughed at this precious moment. Then Maxon and Eadlyn’s brother went out to watch. It was fun! I can almost feel how they felt.

Maxon went to his place with Eadlyn shouting:

“Go, Daddy, go!”

Then America mumbled:

“Not gonna happen,”

I started laughing again when Maxon completely struck out. But they clapped anyway, celebrating as the game continued on with no scores.
When Ahren left with a note and married Camille, there was a pang of pain left in my chest. I am not the twin but I can feel the pain. Thinking about Ahren leaving me ㅡ the one that I trust and cared most ㅡ for some princess of France, I can hardly eat at that point. It even hurts to read that America got sick because of this. I hope she’ll be okay.5712bc466b089a168a676cfec1eeb616-simple-arrow-decorative-divider-by-vexels (1)vrn v9249 494jtLet me know your ideas, opinions and recommendations on the comment section.
signature

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Heir ㅡ Kiera Cass

Leave a comment