The Selection ㅡ by Kiera Cass

The Selection

Release Date: April 24, 2012

Author: Kiera Cass

Rating: 4 stars

4 starsr ty ty39-8 hfwief

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

©goodreads

book review stamp

Reading The Selection was a big blast. A major switch from too much action to a slight romance. I got this book last, last year which I haven’t read yet since I’ve been reading Percy Jackson and I am not as interested as other teens are to romance genre books. But according to my classmates, it’s awesome and it wouldn’t hurt to try.

It’s quite devastating how heartbreaking America’s love life was before she was Selected. Aspen is Six and America was Five and it hurt to know that they are not fit for each other (you have to feel what I feel when Aspen and America broke up). It’s heartbreaking, especially the part when America let Aspen help her with her clothes. Is it just me that feels this way? Or do you too? I need to know.

It feels right reading a book like this. Not too cliché like other romance books but just right to get your feels go circles. To be honest, I can’t really put down this book (and I just finished Four before reading this).

I was actually reading this ’til midnight. I can’t help but continue reading. Especially at this part when Maxon first kissed America. It made squeal and giggle like an idiot. And that second kiss at the same time and same place. This book is killing me! Not literally, but emotionally. I am almost out of my breath as I read those lines that they exchanged and the way Kiera Cass detailed the scene.

With his hand holding my face toward his, Maxon lowered his lips to mine and gave me the faintest whisper of a kiss.

Then they just let my self die with this feels I feel as I continued reading every details.

Even America’s

 “Yes, Maxon,” I whispered. “It’s possible.”

Made me want to backflip. Don’t you guys dare tell me that this scene didn’t do much impact to you as much as it does to me. Don’t you dare.

And I really hate it when Aspen was one of the guards. I mean, Maxon and America were doing pretty well until he went back to her life. I was starting to hate that guy. But who can blame me? It’s a part of the story that Kiera Cass built. But believe me, it is impossible not to feel a mix of pity and anger towards Aspen. Oh how well it was written.

And then, that’s it! I finished a whole in a whole day. I really can’t put it down.5712bc466b089a168a676cfec1eeb616-simple-arrow-decorative-divider-by-vexels (1)vrn v9249 494jtLet me know your ideas, opinions and recommendations on the comment section.

signature

Leave a Reply

