The Elite ㅡ by Kiera Cass

The Elite

Released Date: April 23, 2013

Author: Kiera Cass

Rating: 4 stars

3 starsr ty ty39-8 hfwief

The Selection began with thirty-five girls.
Now with the group narrowed down to the six Elite, the competition to win Prince Maxon’s heart is fiercer than ever—and America is still struggling to decide where her heart truly lies. Is it with Maxon, who could make her life a fairy tale? Or with her first love, Aspen?

America is desperate for more time. But the rest of the Elite know exactly what they want—and America’s chance to choose is about to slip away.

©goodreads

book review stamp

First of all, I don’t really thought it would be this fun to read such a book. I can tell how well Maxon and America’s relationship got a bit closer. And Maxon’s toast during the Halloween party the royal family arranged.

“To all you beautiful ladies. And to my future wife!” Maxon called.

That made my heart thump in excitement as I am one with the Elite. But after such a great night, my heart started thumping again for not a good reason. Especially when America’s maids made her wear black. But then, there was Marlee and Officer Carter Woodwork chained up to be punished. They were brought down from Three and Two to Eight. What hurts the most was to read how much she was hurt. America tried to help her, but Maxon didn’t seem to care. It almost ended their relationship because America can’t handle the pain of people in the future get caned like how they did to Marlee.

To me, Maxon was sad to see Marlee and Carter being caned in front of the crows but I was happy that he didn’t choose for them to die. He lowered their caste ans caned them but at least they did not die. Yet there is still a part of me that suggested that he should have just took them home and lowered their caste without hurting them since he like America. But Marlee broke the law so I don’t really know what to decided. Don’t scold me for this. Haha!

But I admit this is much more heartbreaking than The Selection. I  can actually feel how America feels. But the risk that she was doing with Aspen was really risky. And I don’t like it. Can’t Aspen just stay away? I thought he wanted what was best for America. But he wouldn’t let her move on. I can’t blame him. He loves America too and it was not easy to let go someone you love.

But the day when Maxon and the king left Aspen took the chance.

Maxon is gone. This changes everything.

 I am really pained. At that moment I thought: What would happen if they get caught? Will she leave the palace? Will Maxon forgive her? I thought about Maxon’s feelings too. Can’t America feel what Maxon feels? But he’s a stupid too in the way he showed Kriss affection like how he does to America. I’m really confused who would I choose between Maxon and Aspen.

And if any of you have read this, do you remember the part when America saw the most disgusting thing she could ever see happen to Maxon and Celeste? Believe me, I was so disgusted I could throw up. And that moment made me hate Maxon. I’m angry at him at that scene. I really do.
After all that’s happened, America was leaving. Do you even know how it felt? If you read it, I know you do. There was a part of me shattering. Reading every detail and every clue that she already like Maxon, and I already know that she does. For goodness sake! She could have just let Aspen go. That easy.

I admit how terrifying King Clarkson was. America did not give up anyway and she even said something that made me squeal until I ran out of breath.

I know, I know. It’s hard to explain. All I can say is that I’ve been given a second chance. Maxon matters to me, and I’m going to fight for him.”

America’s lovely maids, I like them too. They have this sweet personality that I liked. I am starting the next book once I finished writing this review. So far, The Selection and The Elite got into 3rd and 4th of my favoritesㅡThe Selection being the 3rd and The Elite being the 4th.

5712bc466b089a168a676cfec1eeb616-simple-arrow-decorative-divider-by-vexels (1)vrn v9249 494jt

Let me know your ideas, opinions and recommendations on the comment section.

signature

Leave a Reply

