Divergent ㅡ by Veronica Roth

Divergent

Released Date: April 25, 2011

Author: Veronica Roth

Rating: 3 stars3 stars (real)r ty ty39-8 hfwief

In sixteen-year-old Beatrice Prior’s world, society is divided into five factions – Abegation (the selfless), Candor (the honest), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent) – each dedicated to the cultivation of a particular virtue, in the attempt to form a “perfect society.” At the age of sixteen, teens must choose the faction to which they will devote their lives.
On her Choosing Day, Beatrice renames herself Tris, rejects her family’s group, and chooses another faction. After surviving a brutal initiation, Tris finds romance with a super-hot boy, but also discovers unrest and growing conflict in their seemingly “perfect society.” To survive and save those they love, they must use their strengths to uncover the truths about their identities, their families, and the order of their society itself.

©goodreads
book review stamp

Before I read the book, I watched the movie first. I liked the movie and everybody know that books are way better than movies. And Divergent did not disappoint me.

What is this book all about? 

Divergent is a dytopian sci-fi book with a hint of romance and a little bit of mystery. Since I’ve read a lot of books relating to adventures and mythology with a lot of actions in it, this book came in just as perfect as the other books I’ve read. Even though I am not a fan of dytopians, Divergent still got me flipping through its pages. The plot is cool and the idea of factions, aptitude tests, simulation, and other of that stuffs. It’s detailed and well written too!

Anyway, I would like to skip to the part when Beatrice took her aptitude test. At this point, her identity of being a Divergent hadn’t shown much yet to the readers. She chose Dauntless instead of her own factionーwhich is Abnegation. There are five factions in the city: Abnegation, Dauntless, Erudite, Candor, and Amity. 

Abnegation who were the selfless people, sensitive and quite ignorant was Beatrice’s old faction. Knowing that a ‘Stiff’ㅡslang word of Dauntless for Abnegationㅡas the first jumper was quite unusual. Their Dauntless initiate instructor, Tobias Eaton, also known as Four, was surprised for seeing a Stiff jump first. Beatrice even changed her name from Beatrice to Tris.
As time passed in the Dauntless compound, Tris began to adjust herself to her new faction. I didn’t really expect Four and Tris to be all lovey-dovey but I must agree that they have the chemistry.

Anyway, I highly recommend this book. Meeting the other characters and all was fun as the whole story is. By the time I started liking the Dauntless, I finally decided to drip my blood on burning coals next yearㅡI’m fifteen, next year will be my Choosing Ceremonyーthen you’ll be seeing me jump on trains like crazy.5712bc466b089a168a676cfec1eeb616-simple-arrow-decorative-divider-by-vexels (1)vrn v9249 494jtLet me know your ideas, opinions and recommendations on the comment section.
signature

One thought on “Divergent ㅡ by Veronica Roth

Leave a Reply

